AAU Educational Leadership & Teaching Excellence Awards

Purpose of Awards Program

The purpose of the awards program is to encourage excellence in teaching and instructional leadership in the universities of the Atlantic region by acknowledging those individuals who exemplify such excellence and those who contribute more generally to the improvement of the quality of university teaching.

The AAU Faculty Development Committee receives nominations each year from universities in Atlantic Canada and the University of the West Indies. From the nominations received, two nominees are selected as recipients of the Distinguished Teaching Award and one nominee is selected as the recipient of the Educational Leadership Award.

AAU Teaching and Educational Leadership Award Recipients

2014 AAU Distinguished Teaching Award 

Dr. Peter MacIntyre

Award Citation

Acceptance Speech


2012 AAU Educational Leadership Award 

Dr. Heather Sparling

Award Citation

Acceptance Speech


2013 AAU Educational Leadership Award

Dr. Stephanie Inglis

  Award Citation

Acceptance Speech